Making Progress

ImageI’m sorry it’s been so long since my last post, but to be honest, there hasn’t been much exciting news to report.  After the craziness of craft shows, I took the rest of December to enjoy a relaxing break with my kids and hubby.  

Little by little we are making progress in our adoption.  There are tons of papers to sign, phone calls to make, and appointments to go to.  I recently received my passport in the mail and got so excited, thinking about the day we will get to fly and meet our little boy!  We are one step closer!

When we started the adoption process, I had many adoptive families tell me that this would also be one of the most trying seasons of my life.  I heard them talk about illness, broken down cars, finances, etc.  I thought that all sounded tough, but we’ve been there and done that, so I knew we could handle it.

WELL, ignorance is bliss!  Unfortunately I can’t get into all of the dirty details, but within a month of us deciding to become public about our adoption process, the hits started coming.  We’ve had months of peace, but something big and scary is usually around every corner.  

If you know me, then you know I’m not one to use a lot of Christian-ese, but when I talk about our adoption, I just can’t avoid it.  It has become very clear to me that the devil does not like adoption.  He will use every device, situation and circumstance to try to plant seeds of doubt, fear, and downright second thoughts.  He wants nothing more than to thwart our efforts to bring a little boy home to our family.  Why?  Because Satan wants us to be alone.  When we are alone, he does his best work.  When we are alone, he tells us that we are ugly, worthless and unlovable.  He does his best to keep us from relationship, because it is when we are in relationships that we begin to know God.  Relationships teach us to depend on another person, and to love sacrificially.  Good relationships mirror the relationship we can have with a loving God.

Satan does not want our son to be in a relationship with us, his parents, because he knows he will lose one more soul.  But, I am not afraid of this, because scripture reminds me “Yet, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:37-39)

So, please, PLEASE keep us in your prayers!  The arrows are certainly being thrown our way.  But, God has given us supernatural peace.  During this most recent trial, a friend shared this verse with me, “I sought the Lord, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears.  They looked to Him and were radiant, And their faces were not ashamed. (Psalm 34:4-5).  

I pray that no matter what you go through, you will turn to God, because He will take away your fear and give you joy.

Thank you for walking with us on this journey!  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

