It’s a boy!!!

It’s been a long time since my last post. I just haven’t had much to say. Many of you know our adoption process was not easy this winter when we went through some difficulties. I wish I could share more, but am not able to until our adoption is complete.

Since April, everything has slowed down and we’ve just been waiting. Every month or so, I would check in with our agency to let them know we were still out there… waiting. They were always gracious and let us know what to expect as far as more waiting was concerned.

Yesterday morning I attended the “Boo Hoo Breakfast” for moms of Kindergartners. There wasn’t much boo-hooing going for me though. The morning we dropped Caleb off at Kindergarten I told him not to worry because I’d be volunteering in the lunch room later that morning. His grateful response, “Why? I don’t need any help with my lunch”. Well great, buddy. Guess I’ll see ya later. When I showed up at lunch he said “I TOLD YOU, I DON’T NEED ANY HELP WITH MY LUNCH!” Lord help me when he’s 15!

So after not boo-hooing, Abby and I went to the grocery store. While I was ordering my guilty pleasure (Vermont White Chedder) at the deli counter, I looked down at my phone and saw my agency’s number on caller ID.

Our agency NEVER calls unless it’s something big.

I just knew it was “The Call”. I answered, and told her I’d call her back after I got my ham and cheese.

Normally, I love checking out in sweet, elderly man’s check out line, but on this day, I wanted to jump behind the counter take over, as he could not have moved ANY SLOWER!

I got in the car, bribed Abby with a video and made her swear on her life that she’d be quiet and called our agency director back.

Sure enough it was “The Call”. They let us know that we were being presented with a referral for a 2 month old little boy from Africa.

I was shaking, crying, rejoicing and almost wetting my pants all at once.

It was like peeing on the pregnancy test stick and seeing the blue line.

We are going to have another son!!!!

I wish I could show you a picture of his sweet chubby cheeks, his plumb pink lips and his head full of curly dark hair, but for his safety and the safety of our adoption process, I’m not able to share his picture or the country he is from electronically. I’d also love to share some of the details of his story, but after much reading and adoption education, we feel his story is HIS story and we’re going to keep it private until he is old enough to share that with whomever he chooses.

But if you know me, I am not easily offended or bothered by questions. So feel free to ask and I will answer what I can.

For now, our son is in good hands, but we can hardly wait for the day when he will be in our arms and in our home.

We thought it was a hard wait before… now the real wait begins. Please pray with us that he will grow and remain healthy, and that he will be home by his first birthday in June. There are no guarantees, but for now, that is our prayer.

Thank you for walking with and rejoicing with us!

“Praise God from Whom all blessings flow”!

(I’ll share his name and the story behind that in my next post)

One thought on “It’s a boy!!!

Leave a Reply

